Serpents in the Garden

Serpents in the Garden

The Graham Saga Book 5

Anna Belfrage


Book five in The Graham Saga featuring time-traveller Alexandra Lind and her 17th century husband, Matthew Graham.

  • ISBN 9781781321737
  • Published Mar 2014
  • Paperback
    203 x 127mm (396 pages)


Serpents in the Garden is the fifth book in Anna Belfrage’s time slip series featuring time traveller Alexandra Lind and her seventeenth century husband, Matthew Graham.

After years of hard work, Matthew and Alex Graham have created a thriving home in the Colony of Maryland. About time, in Alex’s opinion, after far too many adventures she is really looking forward to some well-deserved peace and quiet.

A futile hope, as it turns out. Things start to heat up when Jacob, the third Graham son, absconds from his apprenticeship to see the world – especially as Jacob leaves behind a girl whom he has wed in a most irregular fashion.

Then there’s the infected matter of the fellow time traveller Alex feels obliged to help – no matter the risk. Worst of all, one day Philip Burley and his brothers resurface after years of absence. As determined as ever to make Matthew pay for every perceived wrong – starting with the death of their youngest brother – the Burleys play out a complicated cat and mouse game, and Alex is thrown back into an existence where her heart is constantly in her mouth, convinced as she is that one day the Burleys will achieve their purpose.

Will the Burleys succeed? And if they do, will the Graham family survive the exacted price?

Serpents in the Garden was long listed the Historical Novel Society Indie Award in 2015 and was their Indie Editor's Choice. It has also been awarded a B.R.A.G. Medallion.

B.R.A.G. Medallion Honoree

Want to see all Anna's books?

Click here for her author page.

“If you’re thinking of self-publishing, I hope you don't go at it alone. With a team like SilverWood behind you, you have the support you need to publish the best work you believe in.”

J A Higgins